New wave star in DOK Leipzig jury

In addition to Anne Clark, Heddy Honigmann and Jay Rosenblatt to feature among total of 38 jurors

World-famous new wave musician Anne Clark is joining DOK Leipzig as a jury member. Together with renowned filmmaker Heddy Honigmann, who has been linked to the festival for many years, and producer Luciano Rigolini, she will be judging the feature-length films in the International Competition.

The artist Anne Clark will not only watch and evaluate films, but is also to be seen on Leipzig’s cinema screens herself. The film “Anne Clark – I’ll Walk Out Into Tomorrow” is showing out of competition in the International Programme and celebrates its World Premiere at the festival. Director Claus Withopf provides an eloquent and visually stunning insight into the life and work of this reluctant new wave icon, whose poetic songs fill dancefloors to this day. “It was immediately obvious to us that Anne Clark should also be part of the jury. We appreciate her work as an artist immensely,” says programmer Ralph Eue. He goes on to say: “In Leipzig, where the scene is strongly represented by the Wave Gotik Treffen, Anne Clark certainly has a lot of fans.”

In addition to Anne Clark, numerous other jury members are coming to Leipzig to vote for their favourite films. As in previous years, the range of jury members is very broad: “It is important to me that jurors represent not only the film industry, but also other branches of art and culture,” says festival director Leena Pasanen. In a total of 11 juries, 38 jurors will be voting for the films in competition.

Filmmaker Maike Mia Höhne, who among other things is also responsible for the Berlinale Shorts section, will be voting alongside Dorota Kobiela, whose film “Loving Vincent” is showing as part of Animation Night, and Vano Arsenishvili, who is also represented in the Country Focus Georgia with his film “Altzaney” (2009), for the short films in the International Competition.

The German Competition will be judged by Spiegel Online journalist Hannah Pilarczyk, publisher Molto Menz (Absolut Medien), and director and media artist Manfred Neuwirth.

Jay Rosenblatt, to whom DOK Leipzig is dedicating this year’s homage, is a juror in the Next Masters Competition. The use of archive footage is central to this experimental filmmaker’s work, some of which is part of the permanent collection of the MoMA in New York.

“This year the Animadok jury is once again first-rate,” according to programmer Ralph Eue. In addition to Duscha Kistler, former director of the Fantoche festival, and filmmaker Katja Gauriloff, animation filmmaker Elie Chapuis will be voting for the best animated documentary film. Of Swiss nationality, he is the animator behind the stop-motion animated puppetry work “Ma vie de courgette” (“My Life as a Courgette”), which opened DOK Leipzig 2016.

For the second time a four-member interreligious jury will be giving its verdict on the International Competition.

The prize winners of the 60th edition of DOK Leipzig will receive their awards at the official award ceremony on 4 November. The festival will run from 30 October to 5 November and is set to show around 300 films. Last year, under new director Leena Pasanen, the festival drew a new record number of 48,000 visitors.

You can find information about all DOK Leipzig juries here: